Ok, after months and months of not writing anything, the first thing I am writing is a rant which will probably catch quite a bit of flak. See, I saw a Facebook post earlier this evening where a student is asking for funding as she has been accepted to Oxford.

First of all, I must clarify am not against education in any way. If you get into Oxford and you can afford it, good for you. Go for it all the way and Malaysia will be proud of it. If you can’t afford it, then too bad, especially if you had not secured a scholarship prior to applying at a university you knew full well you won’t be able to afford it.

With the exchange rate as bad as it is right now, to send you to Oxford for your degree is probably going to cost several hundred thousands of ringgit. For me, it would be a choice between sending one person to Oxford so that she gets the bragging rights or, using the same amount of money, sends a few more poor students to school. Do you know, in University Malaya it only costs RM20 000 for a law degree? Assuming that you need one hundred thousand Ringgit for your degree in Oxford, we could have sponsored five students in place of you in UM.

Even in a private college, a law degree costs nearly RM46000 or less if you have good results. An additional student could have benefited from the money used to send you to Oxford.

It is not the universities fault for sending you offer letters when you couldn’t afford to go. I could probably have applied to overseas universities and gotten accepted to at least one, Since I knew I couldn’t afford it, I did not apply. If they send you offer letters anyway, it is your choice to accept and your responsibility to find funding, NOT begging from the public as though we should all bow down in front of your intellectual prowess.

Since you could have gotten tertiary education even in Malaysia (although not as prestigious as Oxford), I find the way you ask for funding really really cheap. As the Malay proverb says, ‘bagi betis mahu paha’.

Think of all those who couldn’t even afford tertiary education in Malaysia before you start asking for the public to fund you to a univeristy that is as expensive as it is prestigious.

If I have such money as to be able to fund a total stranger to study in Oxford, I would have sponsored 5 more in his/her place to study in Malaysia, be it state universities or private college.

It is not the universities fault for sending you offer letters when you couldn’t afford to go. I could probably have applied to overseas universities and gotten accepted to at least one, Since I knew I couldn’t afford it, I did not apply. If they send you offer letters anyway, it is your choice to accept and therefore your responsibility to find the funding, not begging from the public.

