FINALLY! A starter that succeeded. I am so thankful to Breadtopia for their excellent instructions on how to create one and actually explaining why. Second step: add more flour and orange juice and should see activity within 48 hours. 7 hours later, my starter is already bubbling. I fed it another 2 tablespoons of flour and 1 1/2 tablespoon of water and it has gone on bubbling.

It smells excellent, slightly vinegary and yeasty, which was NOT what my last attempt smelled like. My last attempt was rancid by this time and stunk up the entire house. Ugh. Now, with this starter, I can actually see myself baking a loaf of sourdough bread next week. I plan to keep it on the counter and feed it daily for a week before refrigerating it in order for it to mature a bit.

Time to search for sourdough bread recipes I guess. Oh well, I am getting tired of regular bread anyways.

