I have the idea of having homemade bread for breakfast as a means to save money (and using it in other areas). Only problem: bread needs time to bake and obviously I couldn’t bake it just before I get out of the house. No, it must be pre-prepared at least the night before. So I thought to bake a whole lot of bread on Sunday and eat it throughout the week. Good plan, but for one flaw: usually by Wednesday, all the bread I made is eaten. Any bread not eaten after Wednesday tends to just sit and harden. Not exactly breakfast material. Plus, eating the same type of bread throughout the entire week makes me tired of it.

Solution: Freeze half the bread dough and bake it in the middle of the week, preferably on Wednesday. Unfortunately, I have full day classes on Wednesday and simply do not have the time or energy to bake. So that’s it, or so I thought about my brilliant plan to have homemade breakfast.

Casting around the internet in search of fresh ideas, I saw the phrase ‘quick bread’ for the first time. Promising to eat up comparatively little time, it sounds just like what I needed. Until I saw that among the ingredients is baking powder. I had bought many packets of yeast and really need to use them all up before they expire and so could ill afford to add yet another ingredient to my baking shelf. Then I saw the tab titled ‘No Knead Bread’ which sounds interesting.

Curiosity made me clicked on it and I am introduced to bread not shaped before baking. One of the most interesting type of no-knead bread I saw is ‘batter bread’ in which the dough is whipped instead of kneaded and has the consistency of cake batter. It sounds so easy that I thought I have finally found the solution to my problem. Plus it uses yeast as the leavening agent.

Whipping up a batch is easy since I have all the ingredients right there on my baking shelf. Within an hour, the batter bread is ready to be baked. I was so very disappointed when it failed. Instead of warm, soft and fluffy insides, I found the insides to be sticky and very moist, to the extent steam is released when we cut through the crust.

Thinking back, I do not think the failure has anything to do with the recipe, but instead with oven temperature. As my oven is quite small, I have come to realize that for most recipes I need to reduce the temperature by 20 to 40 degrees. This time round, I reduced it by only 10 degrees and it is entirely possible that the temperature is too hot and cooked the crust first, sealing the inner part of the dough, which resulted in the insides being given a steam cooking.

I will certainly try this again as it is so easy to make. Once I master this technique, I will be able to customize it and bake it easily for different flavours during the week. But I will only have the time to experiment during the Diwali holidays. So I shall speak more of this at a later date. Goodnight!

