It is almost 24 hours to dot when I am writing this. I have already fed and watered my sourdough starter tonight. It is giving off a very pungent smell with lots of bubbles and more than doubling its size. I hope this means that it is health. Can someone with experience tell me?

Below are some photos of my two-day-old starter which are taken using my phone camera.

Side view of pre-fed starter
Side view of pre-fed starter
Sourdough starter after one day
Sourdough starter after one day
Fed and watered starter
Fed and watered starter

Anyway, I don’t have 100g of flour, but only 97 g of flour. I try not to obsess over the missing 3 g and instead mix it in with 97g of water. I am hoping that the yeast would not know the miniscule difference.

One thing I am worried about is that tomorrow night I will be home late, at least one hour and a half past today’s feeding time. I hope that the starter can stand being hungry that long, though I am probably getting all worried over nothing since I have been told time and again that yeast are very resilient and could easily miss a feeding or two. As I am getting a very active starter after one day, I am going to assume that it is much stronger than it seems.

By the way, I just learnt that a mutual friend actually bake sourbread and is likely to have some starter on hand. Ah, if I could have know earlier, I might have just begged some starter to seed my own instead of starting from scratch. Oh well, as my friend said, it is experience worth having.

