Last night, a sudden craving for bread for breakfast sent me to the kitchen after dinner. Three hours later, I have my Milk Buns, four huge loaves of them. Forgetting to take pictures of them, I only remembered after nearly finishing them off this morning. Ahh…. The fragrance of milk.

Fluffy milky buns
Fluffy milky buns
Photos of what was left after breakfast ><
Photos of what was left after breakfast ><

This afternoon, I also start making the crab-shaped buns required by my sister. Although it is named the Golden Crab in the recipe, my final products are less than golden, no doubt due to the higher temperature of my oven. Altogether, I spent about six hours to produce four humongous ‘crabs”. While the recipe is only to make plain bread, I altered it somewhat. This is because, looking at the recipe, I realized that the final product is going to be very big and being all plain bread will be quite boring, not to mention bland.

Therefore, for the body of the crab, I put some chocolate into the middle, making it a chocolate bun. Whereas for the small legs, I wrap in pieces of ham. Only the “pincers” are left original. The final measurement is so huge that only one crab can fit into the oven at one time. I ended up having to do it four times, turning the cooking time into one hour and twenty minutes instead of a mere twenty minutes.

My family suggested that I should maybe make it half as big next time so that we will have eight smaller crabs instead of four huge crabs. I agree. Next time I am going to try butter cream filling for the body and bacon for the legs.

Right before baking
Right before baking
Sideview
Takes up the entire tray!
A bit burnt on the backs
A bit burnt on the backs
A close up
A close up
