Remember the croissants? They are such a disaster that I stayed away from the oven for some time. Then I found out the bread flour I was using has a lot of WORMS! Eeeeww…… So I had to get fresh ingredients. By then, I am quite discouraged to even think of croissants any more.

But having gotten a new book on bread recipes, I simply couldn’t resist trying out one of the recipes, the so-called Golden Cow Bun, which is shaped like a pair of cow horns. As you can see below, my finished products look nothing like cow horns much to my disappointment. Oh well, at least it tastes great.

It certainly takes up a lot of time. Luckily I am now on holidays. With all the time waiting for it to rise, then to mold and then rise again, all in all it took about five hours, not including cooking time. I made seven buns altogether, which was supposed to go in as one batch. Unfortunately, our oven is too small and I have to separate the buns into three different batches. The cooking time was lengthened but luckily my buns did not suffer for not going into the oven at the prescribed moment. Forgiving recipe indeed.

It smelt divine when it was baking, of milk and butter. When my sister tasted it, she said that the sweetness is subtle and excellent taste and texture. I am so exhilarated that my bread succeeded that I really want to go and shout it out to the world.

Anyway, my sister has ordered (can you believe her impertinence?) me to make her a bun shaped like a crab for her to take to school. Maybe I will, maybe I won’t. We shall see. If I am making anything, it will be on Sunday. Still, I might decided not to as the crab-shaped bun is also very time-consuming, requiring almost four hours to get the dough ready for baking. But then, it sounds like fun.

Soft and pale
Soft and pale
Pale and uncooked vs golden brown and heavenly
Pale and uncooked vs golden brown and heavenly
Looks nice, don't they?
Looks nice, don’t they?
Excellent taste, texture and looks
Excellent taste, texture and looks
A closer look
A closer look
