The mooting society of my college is a bunch of inefficient fools. Before we signed up for the mooting competition, we were told that it will definitely be over by the end of January as they don’t want to cut into our revision time since we are sitting for exams in May. Turns out it is still ongoing until now, 7th of February. And it is only on the 10th of February will the semi-finals be held.

Don’t get me wrong. Mooting is, or rather was, fun. As long as it isn’t being dragged out. Right now, mooting is seriously cutting into my study time, and I am getting rather tired of it. I don’t really mind researching or even drafting the arguments. But for goodness sake, if you need me to send the skeleton arguments to the judges by Saturday, please give me the names of the judges by, the latest, Wednesday since you are not going to give us their email addresses! Unfortunately for us participants, until now, the names of the judges had not yet been posted.

If that isn’t inefficiency, I don’t know what is. How hard is it to post the names of the judges on Facebook? It isn’t even asking the society to notify each and every one of the participants personally. By now, the names of the judges should already have been known to the society. Posting something on Facebook will take a maximum of 5 minutes. Don’t tell me you haven’t five minutes to share, especially since smartphone is all the rage now, you can even update your Facebook in the toilet.

That is one of the most inefficient things the society did. Another point of inefficiency lies in posting the questions. Since there is a Book of Moots with the society, it shouldn’t be a problem. Yet it takes them 2 weeks to post a new question after a round of match ends.

The slow acting speed of the mooting society is really getting to me. I wish them luck in getting participants next year because I am going to warn people that they hadn’t kept their promise of the length of the time they will take to finish the whole competition. Since we all have finals in the early May, I doubt many will enter.

