My opponents in the upcoming quarterfinals of the school moot competition pulled out suddenly today just one day before we are supposed to submit our skeleton arguments to each other and the judge. Some said it is a good thing and I shouldn’t grumble about it. Of course it is a good thing, especially since the question for the moot (judicial review) is extremely skewed to the opponents and it is difficult to find any statutes or case law to support our points.

BUT. But the thing is, I have already done my research amid grumbles and whines and grouses and is about to wrap it up today before submitting it tomorrow! Being inconsiderate jerks, they didn’t inform us of their decision to pull out until almost the last minute, making me waste my time doing research which could be better used to study. It makes me irritated and unhappy.

We got the question on Tuesday. Let’s say you need two days to think it over. That makes it Thursday. Do you really have to do that on Friday? When mooters are already getting ready to submit, wrapping the research up and writing up the skeleton argument? I would say it is cruel and vindictive. Even then, I would still want to ask the question. Why pull out? The case is practically yours. You only need to find the cases to support the theory which everybody, including our lecturers agreed upon.

Anyway, I heard that pull out because of the stress of coping with studies while researching for the moot at the same time. I agree that it is difficult, but you learn so much more. For example, I found a case saying that the time for application can be extended if there is a good reason even though our lecturers say to the contrary. So, I feel that doing mooting is actually quite beneficial to our studies as well.

To conclude, I will have to say I have mixed feeling about this walkover. I am of course relieved that I no longer need to do research and prepare for the match, yet at the same time I am slightly pissed at them at robbing of the sweetness of victory. Contradictory right? No matter. On to the next round, the semi-finals.

