Having been briefed on these two law degrees, I am now expected to choose one path. In my country, Malaysia, we don’t have to have a QLD to practice. However, I feel that it would be much more challenging and fun to choose one of the two pathways offered in QLD.

To practice as a advocate or solicitor in Malaysia, a non-qualifying law degree would be enough. It consists of 12 subjects completed over the course of three years. This course will be much more easier and manageable compared to a qualifying law degree as we are not required to write any thesis or do any research as part of our coursework.

However, since I hoped to someday practice outside Malaysia, I am debating whether to take the qualifying law degree. While it is early for me to think about this, planning early is never an error. There are two pathways to a qualifying law degree. The first pathway consists of 11 subjects and a 10 000 words thesis. The thesis will be done in the final year with three other subjects. It will count as one also.

My preference is the second pathway. Similar to a non-qualifying law degree, it consists of 12 subjects to be done in three years. The difference lies in the third year, where I would need to do small-scale research and submit a research essay of 2 500 words in addition to the four subjects. While this pathway may be more difficult, I like this pathway better as it allows me more choice for my elective courses.

Doing a non-qualifying degree will be the easy way out as aside from studying from textbooks and supplementary materials, we do not have to undertake any legal skills. But I have this sneaking feeling that having a qualified law degree may make me more employable as I would have acquired the legal skills I would need in my career. I will have to reconsider my decision next May after the exams. If I find it difficult to cope with the examinations, then I might have to give up a qualifying law degree.

