So, I never thought that I would one day sit down and write about a movie. Not that I don’t like them, just that I don’t really have thoughts about them.

Now, I have already written today and I did not actually plan to write another. However, to celebrate my newfound freedom, I went to the movies with my sister and we decided to watch After Earth.

As sci-fic movies go, it is actually quite good. It may be slightly disappointing to those who want a good portion of action with any movie. Don’t get me wrong, there is action in it, but it is minimal, designed to emphasize rather than enthrall. I liked it.

It is a movie about a father and his son. At the time of the story, mankind had left Earth for a thousand years after rendering it unsuitable for human lives. They went to another planet, led by the Rangers, a military unit comprised of all nationality and race. However, extra-terrestrial beings are unhappy with humans and thus unleashed the Ursha, monsters created to destroy human kind. The father, Cypher Raige (Will Smith), is a legendary commander who invented ‘ghosting’, a technique to make themselves invisible to the monsters. From what I gathered, it seems to be a kind of technique for getting hold of your fears because the monsters tracked pheromones released by fear.

Basically, the father and son were forced to crash land in an Earth that is hostile to humankind. The son, Kitai (Jayden), had to run 100 km to get to another part of the spaceship to get hold of a beacon to signal for rescue. He did it, and conquer his fear of the monsters in the end. Nice, you really can see the fatherly affection and concern from Will. Wonders if the fact that it is his own son helped?

Anyway, now for my opinion for what it is worth. Which is not much as I am told. The spaceship, first of all, reminds me of a stingray. I mentioned this to my sister during the movie and got a laugh in return. Why, in the whole wide world, a stingray? There are hundreds of different animals to chose from, and they chose stingray as the shape for their spaceship? I don’t know, it just seems so ludicrous to me that I have to stifle a bark of laughter in the cinema.

Secondly, has anyone mentioned that there is tons of holes in the plot? Have anyone try to navigate a forest, no, a densely wooded area without map or compass and not knowing the geography of the terrain? Logically impossible. Yet that is what Kitai accomplished in, oh I don’t know, four days? And 100 km? Who are you kidding? Add to that he had been bitten, attacked and frozen, and he did not have any serious hurt? Fighting with an Ursha for the first time and only minor injuries?

What about Cypher’s broken leg? The way the computer keeps on blinking that the bypass failed and all that stuff, my sister and I were going, oh God, is he going to lose his leg? Or even worse, die? In the end, he did neither and was almost FINE!!

Not to say it doesn’t have any elements of thrills. I had been scared quite badly during the movie. There are moments when I had been, quite literally, scared out of my skin. But it is disappointing in that aspect. I went into the cinema with a really thick jacket, anticipating a real good scare and thrills from the movie. But, all I see is a kid who is scared of every sound and not much thrills.

So, to sum it up, my response to whether I like the movie would be: Well, I like it well enough, but there seems to be something missing. Some element which can help make up the slight disappointment that there is not much action within the film. All in all, it is quite a tame film.

